Webpage Photo 2014 All

Clare Champion, July 18th 1980

McMahon goal gives Kilmaley victory by Seamus Hayes Kilmaley 2-8 • Scariff 2-6

Substitute Eugene McMahon was Kilmaley's hero in this intermediate championship first round tie at Dr Daly*park, Tulla, on Sunday. Trailing by a point entering the final five minutes the Kilmaley mentors introduced McMahon at corner forward and within two minutes of his introduction he scored the winning goals. Over the hour the winners deserved their success but Scariff have reason to be disappointed. They missed some good chances while, in my opinion, at last some of their switches seemed to upset the side rather then strengthen them.

The winners raced into a three-point lead through three Martin Meehan frees in the opening stages before a goal by Scariff's Tom Nugent levelled matters. Martin Median and Gerry Pyne had points for Kilmaley bur Gerry Nugent and Padraig Giblin had like scores for Scariff to level matters again. Then Tom Nugent had a goal for Scariff followed by points from Nugent and John Minogue as Scariff took control. Just on the stroke of half-time a shot from fifty metres by Kilmaley's Willie Pyne bounced past Martin O'Grady in the Scariff goal to leave just two points between the sides at half-time. Five minutes into the second half Scariff increased their lead to three points when Gerry Nugent was on target. Kilmaley had to wait until the end of the third quarter for their first score of the half which was a point from John Mungovan. This was followed by a like score from P J Kennedy ten minutes from time. Martin Median levelled from a twenty-metre free but Scariff went ahead two minutes afterwards with a twenty-metre free from Gerry Nugent.
Then came the introduction of McMahon to the Kilmaley attack and he scored the decisive goal for the winners. For the winners Paddy Hill in the unusual role of full-back, Martin Darcy, Tommy Keane, Martin Meehan, P J Kennedy and Joe Griffey, when he move to the forwards, were best. Scariff had their most prominent players in Teddy and Scan Murphy, Gerry Nugent, John Minogue, Tom Nugent and John O'Grady.
Kilmaley: J Griffey, M Darcy, P Hill, M Maher, N McGuane, T Keane, P Keane, M Median, W Pyne, N Casey, G Pyne, M Enright, T Neville, J Mungovan and P J Kennedy. Substitutes: P Pilkington for M Enright and E McMahon for T Neville.

Receive HTML?


Today 18

Yesterday 18

Week 150

Month 150

All 64038

Currently are one guest and no members online

Kubik-Rubik Joomla! Extensions

Latest News

Twitter images



 HB Logo-whitebg

KHGAA Pieta House

Joomla templates by Joomlashine