Webpage Photo 2014 All

Intermediate hurling semi-final played at Tulla, August 28th 1977
Clare Champion September 2nd 1977 Kilmaley 1-13 Scariff 1-7

In only their second year in intermediate competition Kilmaley qualified for the final of this year's competition when they beat last year's beaten finalists Scariff at Tulla on Sunday. After a very low-scoring first half with Kilmaley leading 0-3 to 0-2, the teams produced the best hurling after half time.
It was in this half that Kilmaley asserted their superiority picking off some lovely long-range points. The player who really caused heartache to the losers during this period was Gerry Pyne who moved to mid-field for the final quarter. The Clare under- 21 scored some great points at vital stages.
By the end of the third quarter the winners were six points ahead 0-10 to 0-4. Kilmaley introduced Patsy Pilkington at full-forward in place of Paddy Lynch and the subsitute got a goal by kicking the ball to the net almost immediately. The east Claremens' goal came five minutes later from Brendan Ryan who had just been moved from centre-back to centre-forward.
The losers tried hard to get back on terms but they just could not get through the Kilmaley defence and the mid-Claremen went on to score a deserved victory. In defence they had their best players in Martin Darcy, Donie Lynch and Paddy Hill. Tommy Keane and Martin Meehan teamed up well in mid-field while up front Gerry Pyne, Eugene McMahon and Tommy Neville were best.
Brendan Ryan, Pat Clancy and Tom Nugent were best for the losers' defence while the Murphy brothers Scan and Teddy tried hard at mid-field. In the forward line Noel O'Sullivan and to a lesser extent Gerry Nugent, who was off-target with a number of scoreable frees, were best.

Kilmaley scorers: Gerry Pyne 0-5; Martin Meehan 0-4; Patsy Pilkington 1-0; Eugene McMahon 0-2; Tom Neville 0-1 and Tommy Keane 0-1.

Scariff scorers* B Ryan 1-0; Gerry Nugent 0-2; Tom Nugent 0-2; N O'Sullivan 0-1; P Jones 0-1 and S Murphy 0-1.

Kilmaley team: J Griffey, M Darcy D Lynch, M Maher, B Lynch, P Hill, N McGuane, M Meehan, T Keane, E McMahon, G Pyne, J Mungovan, T Neville, P Lynch and P J Kennedy; substitutes: P Pilkington for P J Kennedy and W Pyne for B Lynch. Referee V Arthur, Newmarket

All extracts by kind permission of the Clare Champion and Ennis county

Receive HTML?


Today 18

Yesterday 18

Week 150

Month 150

All 64038

Currently are 5 guests and no members online

Kubik-Rubik Joomla! Extensions

Latest News

Twitter images



 HB Logo-whitebg

KHGAA Pieta House

Joomla templates by Joomlashine