Webpage Photo 2014 All

Clare Champion, Saturday, July 4th 1936
Hurling in Cusack Park: Kilnamona Beat Kilmaley

Kilmaley 2-3 Kilnamona 5-2

A spirited encounter delighted a big holiday crowd at Cusack Park, Ennis on Monday. Each team had a strong following and the various phases of the game aroused the enthusiasm of each set of admirers alternately.
Although there were a few showers and when the final whistle blew there were two peals of thunder, the weather was favourable and the spectators thoroughly enjoyed themselves. 
In the division, three teams emerged on equal terms - Kilnamona, Kilmaley and Ballyea. On the draw for elimination Ballyea got a bye and the other two teams had to meet. Both Kilnamona and Kilmaley were recently organised and prepared earnestly for the fray. The rivalry between them was very keen and the result was that their encounter attracted one of the biggest crowds that has ever been seen at a Junior hurling match in Clare.
Kilnamona were slow to start and in the early stages of the game Kilmaley were seen to advantage, their better combination and precision enabling them to establish a lead of seven points before Kilnamona got into their stride. However, by steady play Kilnamona gradually reduced the lead. At half-time the score was Kilmaley 2-3, Kilnamona 2-1.
In the second half the excitement was quite intense. Kilmaley fought vigorously to retain their advantage and Kilnamona were equally determined to deprive them of it. After ten minutes dour struggle Kilnamona scored a goal. This so heartened them and inspired them with so much confidence that despite a strong resistance by Kilmaley, they wore down the opposition and when the referee, Joe Madigan blew the final whistle they were the winners on the score, Kilnamona 5-2, Kilmaley 2-3. 
Prominent for the winners were Rynne, 'Fox' Griffey, McTigue and Moloney (in goal). For Kilmaley Murphy played excellently and Neylon was outstanding until he had to retire injured.

: D. McKee, P. Murphy, M. Murphy, P. Cahir, W. Murphy, P. Leahy, J. Burke, T. Neylon, J. O'Loughlin, J. Pilkington, L. Burke, P. Daffy, P. Griffin, J. Maher, M. Burke.

Kilnamona: D. Moloney, A. Doherty, P. McTigue, M. McTigue, M. McGuane, M. King, J. Rynne, M. Sullivan, F. McTigue, J. Griffin, F. Cunningham, P. Rynne, A. McTigue, J. Kelly, M. Kerin.

Referee - Joe Madigan

Receive HTML?


Today 19

Yesterday 18

Week 151

Month 151

All 64039

Currently are 2 guests and no members online

Kubik-Rubik Joomla! Extensions

Latest News

Twitter images



 HB Logo-whitebg

KHGAA Pieta House

Joomla templates by Joomlashine